SLICC membership is currently limited to 42 Full Time members. There are four categories of membership:

  1. Full Membership – Should have access to a lupus cohort for use in SLICC studies and have significant experience in lupus research.
  2. Provisional Membership – Identified as an appropriate successor by an existing SLICC member who has relinquished directorship of said cohort; provisional members will be considered for full membership after two years, providing they have demonstrated continued follow up of the said cohort and participate in other current and new SLICC research activities.
  3. Emeritus Membership – Has retired from active SLICC membership, but continues to contribute to SLICC activities.
  4. Advisory Membership – Should possess particular expertise to advise SLICC and have significant experience in SLE research or any other relevant related research or methodologies.

Those interested in applying for membership in SLICC should contact Dr. Anca Askanase ([email protected]).


Dr. Cynthia Aranow

Feinstein Institute for Medical Research

Dr. Laurent Arnaud

Centre National de Reference des Maladies Autoimmunes et Systémiques Rares, Hopital de Hautepierre

Dr. Anca Askanase

Columbia University Medical Centre

Dr. Sang-Cheol Bae

Hanyang University Hospital for Rheumatic Diseases

Dr. Sasha Bernatsky

McGill University Health Centre

Dr. Ian Bruce

University of Manchester

Dr. Jill P. Buyon

NYU Medical Center

Dr. Ann Clarke

University of Calgary

Dr. Nathalie Costedoat-Chalumeau

Centre de Reference Maladies Auto-immunes et Systemiques Rares, Service de Medecine Interne, Hospital Cochin

Dr. Mary Anne Dooley

UNC Kidney Centre

Dr. Andrea Doria

University of Padova

Dr. Paul R. Fortin

Université Laval

Dr. Ellen Ginzler

SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Dr. Dafna Gladman

University of Toronto

Dr. Murat Inanç

Istanbul University

Dr. David Isenberg

University College London

Dr. Søren Jacobsen


Dr. Judith James

Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation

Dr. Andreas Jönsen

Lund University

Dr. Ken Kalunian

UC San Diego School of Medicine

Dr. Diane L. Kamen

Medical University of South Carolina

Dr. Alexandra Legge

Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre and Dalhousie University

Dr. Sam Lim

Emory University School of Medicine

Dr. Anselm Mak

National University of Singapore

Dr. Susan Manzi

Allegheny Health Network

Dr. Eric Morand

Monash University

Dr. Marta Mosca

University of Pisa

Dr. Christine Peschken

University of Manitoba

Dr. Michelle Petri

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Dr. Bernardo A. Pons-Estel

Sanatorio Parque S.A.

Dr. Anisur Rahman

University College London

Dr. Rosalind Ramsey-Goldman

Northwestern University

Dr. John A. Reynolds

University of Birmingham

Dr. Juanita Romero-Diaz

Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Médicas y Nutrición

Dr. Guillermo Ruiz-Irastorza

Hospital Universitario Cruces

Dr. Jorge Sanchez-Guerrero

University of Toronto

Dr. Elisabet Svenungsson

Karolinska University Hospital

Dr. Manuel F. Ugarte-Gil

Hospital Nacional Guillermo Almenara Irigoyen

Dr. Evelyne Vinet

McGill University Health Centre

Dr. Alexandre Voskuyl

VU University Medical Center

Dr. Daniel Wallace

Cedars-Sinai Medical Centre


Dr. Eric Boilard

Université Laval

Dr. Hermine Brunner

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, University of Cincinnati

Dr. Vern Farewell

University of Cambridge

Dr. Emily Somers

University of Michigan Schools of Medicine & Public Health

Dr. David Wofsy

University of California


Dr. Zahi Touma

Toronto Lupus Program at University Health Network


Dr. Graciela S. Alarcón

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Dr. W. Winn Chatham

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Prof. Caroline Gordon

Institute of Inflammation and Ageing (IIA)

Dr. John G. Hanly

Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre

Dr. Munther A. Khamashta

St Thomas' Hospital

Dr. Peter Maddison

Ysbyty Gwynedd Hospital

Dr. Joan Merrill

Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation

Dr. Ola Nived

Lund University

Dr. Thomas Stoll


Dr. Murray Urowitz

University of Toronto

Dr. Ronald F. van Vollenhoven

University of Amsterdam

Dr. Asad Zoma

Hairmyres Hospital


Nicole Anderson

University of Toronto

Lisa Fougere

Queen Elizabeth II Health Science Centre

Anne MacKinnon

University of Toronto